Co-op To Host Annual Meeting

Tuesday, August 25th at the Delaware State Fairgrounds

If you’re a fan of great food and entertainment, then we’re sure you’ll have a lot of fun at our Annual Meeting on Tuesday, August 25th. Registration and our famous fried chicken dinners will be served starting at 3 p.m. and our Business Meeting will begin at 7 p.m. Please note, doors will open at 3 p.m. Members will also be treated to music and a community fair. Voting will also take place for our Board of Directors, who represent members when important decisions at the 

Co-op are made. All of the action takes place in air-conditioned buildings at the Delaware State Fairgrounds in Harrington. Dinner will be served in the Centre Ice Rink and the Business Meeting will take place in the Dover Building. We hope you can make it!

Co-op Board Election At The Annual Meeting 

In connection with the election of four (4) Directors scheduled for this meeting, the following candidates for Directors of Cooperative District Numbers 3, 6, 9 & At-Large have been nominated by petition pursuant to the By-Laws. Since there are no contested director elections, and no proposed by-law amendments, in order to save considerable time and expense, the election of directors for this meeting will be by voice vote rather than by written ballot or voting machines. Below are the candidates running unopposed for office. 

DISTRICT  3 - William J. Wells

District 3 incumbent and Board Chairman William J. Wells is a native Delawarean and owner of White Oak Farm, a dairy operation west of Felton. He belongs to several statewide organizations including the Delaware Dairy Herd Improvement Association and the Delaware Farm Bureau. A graduate of Milton High School, Bill is also the recipient of the Governor’s 2012 Agricultural Award. Bill and his wife Janet, have a daughter, Sharon, and attend the Manship Chapel Church.

DISTRICT 6 - Laura T. Phillips

Laura T. Phillips is the incumbent in District 6. She is a native Delawarean and has a Bachelor’s Degree in Human Resource Management from Wilmington University.  She is a Vice President with WSFS Bank and is active in several local organizations.  Mrs. Phillips resides near Seaford with her husband Ben and their son Cole.

DISTRICT 9 - Dean C. Belt

Dean C. Belt is the incumbent in District 9.  After graduating from Penn State University, Dean worked for the GLF Farm Cooperative in New Jersey.  After completing military service in the Army, Dean moved to Delaware in 1961 and earned a Master’s Degree in horticulture.  He then worked for the University of Delaware Cooperative Extension Service.  Dean and his wife Peg are active in All Saints Episcopal Church.

DISTRICT AT-LARGE - Michael K. Brown

Incumbent Board Member Michael K. Brown is a resident of Hartly and a veteran of state service, working for both the Delaware Department of Agriculture and the Division of Soil and Water Conservation, serving in management positions at both agencies. Michael has a Master’s Degree in Organization Leadership from Wilmington University and a Bachelor’s Degree from West Virginia University.